Wirt County Sheriff Andy Cheuvront, 40, was involved in a car accident in Myrtle Beach S.C. while on vacation, apparently driving a vehicle owned by the county.

Last week county officials declined to answer questions regarding the accident, and have yet to respond to a FOIA issued by the Hur Herald.

Cheuvront, according to police records in Myrtle Beach, was driving a 2002 Ford which he uses as the county's police cruiser.

Commissioner Charles Murray told the Parkersburg News that Cheuvront bought the vehicle with his own money because the county could not afford to make the purchase.

Murray then said Cheuvront put the vehicle in the county's name, but also continued to use the vehicle for his private use.

Following the Myrtle Beach collision, unconfirmed reports said the county commission had to extend financial assistance to the Sheriff to get the vehicle fixed or to get it back to Wirt County.

No citations were issued in the accident, which reports said damaged Cheuvront's (or Wirt County's) vehicle $1,000, while the other party sustained $2,500 damage.

Cheuvront told a reporter he uses the vehicle for his own personal use, as part of a contract he originally negotiated with the county, paying for his own gasoline.

Wirt officials have indicated the county has now purchased a vehicle for use by the sheriff.

Cheuvront was to have put the old vehicle back in his name, according to commissioner Murray, but that apparently had not occurred.

It was not confirmed if the county's insurance policy was paying for the accident, but the sheriff said he wanted to pay the deductible.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019