Submitted by Brenda McBride

Calhoun County Committee on Aging's 5th Annual Garden Show was held July 25th-July 29th.

The displays were judged on July 28th. Awards for the winners were announced on Friday at the "Garden Show Dinner & Jam Swap".

Ribbons were awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd Place Winners in each category. Participation certificates were given to all participants.

First place for Garden Variety Platter went to Bonnie Buck

Ribbons were presented to the following:

Fresh Vegetables: Cabbage-1st place Bonnie Buck, Squash-1st place Hobart Richards, Yellow Zucchini-1st place and Best Of Show Hobart Richards, Green Peppers-1st place Hobart Richards.

Burp-less Cucumbers-1st place Hobart Richards, Cucumbers-1st place Hobart Richards, 2nd place Pauline Garretson. Tomatoes-1st place Ruth Wright, Zucchini-1st place-Jeanie Smith, Beets-1st place Jeanie Smith, Melon Squash-1st place Jeanie Smith, 2nd place-Jeanie Smith.

Blueberries-1st place Alta Mae Richards, Blackberries-1st place Alta Mae Richards.

Canned Vegetables and Miscellaneous: Maple Syrup-1st place Hobart Richards, Dilly Beans-1st place Evelyn McCormick, Pickled Beets- 1st place Bonnie Buck. Sauerkraut-1st place Bonnie Buck, Peach Honey- 1st place Hobart Richards, Pork Loin-1st place Hobart Richards.

Peaches-1st place Margaret Cunningham, Jam-1st place Jeanie Smith, Butter-1st place Margaret Cunningham, Preserves-1st place Margaret Cunningham.

Jelly-1st place Bonnie Buck, 2nd place Margaret Cunningham, 3rd place Margaret Cunningham, Honorable Mention Margaret Cunningham.

Thanks to our judge Nancy Bremar from the WVU Extension Office

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019