Submitted by Diann Clothier

TJ Platt, Pro/Expert racer, completed the 9th Annual Appalachian Classic today in 1 hour, 46 minutes, and 40 seconds - surpassing his 2004 course record of 1:51:30 for the 21.6 mile race.

Not only did TJ win the Men's Champion Bowl, but proved, for the second time in a row, that he owns the trails at the Calhoun County Park.

Before TJ broke his record of last year, the fastest time for the 3 lap race was 1:51:59, set by Ryan O'Conner in 2001.

116 mountain bike racers showed up for the West Virginia Spring Point Series Championship under the extremely sunny skies of Calhoun County - 90+ degree heat, and 3 water stations per lap.

The winners were:

Men's Pro/Expert Open: TJ Platt 1:46:40
Women's Pro/Expert Open: Cassie Smith 2:20:49 - also taking home a Champion's Bowl
Men's Vet Expert 35+: Steve Thaxton 2:01:18
Men's Expert Master 45+: Alan Doss 2:14:33
Men's Jr Expert under 18: Cale DeVall 2:43:20
Single Speed Open: Jason Cyr 2:00:18

Racing 2 laps, for 14.4 miles, the Sport Winners were:

Men's Sport 19-34: Nat Arnold 1:30:34
Women's Sport 19-34: Susan Wren 1:49:18
Men's Sport Vet 35+: Dave Koreski 1:28:47
Women's Sport Vet 35+: Ruth Cunningham 1:53:09
Men's Sport Master 45+: Bruce Williams 1:32:35
Clydesdale 200 lb+: Steve Ware 1:45:45
Men's HS 15-18: Derick Wolfe 1:27:07
The fastest male & female sport racers, Susan Wren and Derick Wolfe, won a rafting trip with the Ace Adventure Rafting Company.
Racing 1 Lap for 7.2 miles, the Jr Sport and other 1 lap class winners were:

Jr. Sport 14 & under: Corey Chambers 57:03
Men's Beginner Open: Steve Parrish 53:34
Law Enforcement: Greg Pickens 1:00:17
Olympic Sport 19+: Espe Clothier 54:30
Olympic Sport Vet: Calvin Leport 1:03:19
Olympic Masters 45+: Alan Szafranski 55:06
Olympic Grand Master 55+: Jerry Bliton 1:15:29

The Appalachian Classic MTB Race and Festival thanks all the racers, spectators, volunteers, and sponsors for their enthusiastic support of the race.

For complete race coverage and pictures, check &NBS; www.iplayoutside.com

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019