Calhoun County is one of 26 West Virginia counties to receive a courthouse security grant. The grant was requested by the Calhoun Commission.

The amount of the grant to Calhoun was not released, but it comes from a $900,000 allocation by the state.

One of the items requested by Calhoun was a new computerized locking system for the courthouse.

The Court Security Fund Grant Program is administered by the state Supreme Court and the state Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Other counties receiving grants are Berkeley, Boone, Brooke, Cabell, Fayette, Jackson, Jefferson, Harrison, Kanawha, Lewis, Marshall, Mason, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Raleigh, Tucker, Upshur and Wood.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019