Twenty-six Calhoun High students received special recognition at the school's second annual Honor Graduates Banquet yesterday evening. Principal Greg Cartwright said the students are "The best of the best. They have reached the highest levels of academic achievement." The Commons was filled with honor students, parents, honor teachers, school administrators and members of the Calhoun Board of Education, who enjoyed a banquet meal served by members of the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, HSTA, Student Council and the Mt. Zion United Methodist Church women. Cartwright introduced Jay Cole, a widely recognized educator who has returned to West Virginia to develop educational programs linked to the arts. Cole spoke about his affection for his native state, and challenged the students to remain in West Virginia and contribute their skills, knowledge and energy.

High Honor Graduates: students who will be graduating with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.6 are: Christeallia Amorosi, Kristi Cain, Leah Fiedorczyk, Morgan Grahame, Betsy Harris, Justin Hartshorn, Anna Hughes, Tiffani Johnson, Darlele Lamont, Monica Offutt, Ashley Poling, Brandi Richards, Crystal Richards, John Sampson, Candace Stalnaker, Derek Westfall, Scottie Westfall

Honor Graduates: students who will be graduating with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4 are: Samara Church, Kevin Cunningham, Lora Davis, Joe Goff, Pat Mace, Jessica Miller, Miranda Richards, Marie Sorokin, Heather Walker

Each honor student was asked to select a teacher they felt has contributed to their knowledge and growth at Calhoun High. Superintendent Ron Blankenship presented nineteen teachers with Honor Certificates, including Roger Allen, Pam Bartlett, Jane Carpenter, Robert Bonar, Tim Davis, Nellie Dowell, Mike Edwards, Amy Fitzwater, Larry Harris, Gary Knight, Jim Morgan, Anne Lorentz Murphy, Sue Ann Nichols, Susan Pitts, Natalie Smith, John Queen, Linda Vanhorn, Bessie Welch and Tammy Yoak.

Parents, teachers and students attend banquet

(L to R) Ron Blankenship, superintendent of schools; Jay Cole, speaker and Greg Cartwright, master of ceremonies

Board of Education members attend (L to R) Ralph Cunningham, Rick Fitzwater, Burl Simers, Carlene Frederick and Jaunita Berdine

Valedictorian Justin Hartshorn, 2001 Honor Grad

Salutatorian Darlene Adele Lamont, 2001 Honor Grad

Valedictorian Monica Lane Offutt, 2001 Honor Grad

Valedictorian Candace Dawn Stalnaker, 2001 Honor Grad

Honor teachers and graduates

Honor Student members of SCAT

Principal Cartwright expressed appreciation to Calhoun Banks, the Grantsville Lions Club and the McKelvey Foundation for helping underwrite the banquet.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021