By Bob Weaver

Three Valedictorians will be honored at the 77th commencement exercise at Calhoun High School, Friday evening, June 1st. Named for their high scholastic achievement the honorees are, Justin Harthshorn, Monica Offutt and Candace Stalnaker. The Salutatorian for the Class of 2001 is Darlene Lamont. Eighty-four students are expected to receive their diplomas.

The graduation program begins at 7 p.m. in the school's gymnasium, and will include brief addresses by the four scholars, a special "Memories" presentation by the Class of 2001 and music by the CCHS choir and band.

Principal Greg Cartwright will recognize students receiving scholarships and present the President's Education Awards. Ron Blankenship, Superintendent of Schools, will accept the senior class and Rick Fitzwater, President of the Board of Education will present the diplomas.

Justin Todd Harthshorn, Valedictorian

Justin is the son of Leisa Prunty of Grantsville and Jeff Hartshorn of Mt. Zion. He has participated in the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Future Farmers of America and S.C.O.R.E.S. competition during his high school years. Justin also attended Governor's Honors Academy and Know Your State Government Day. He is a member of the United Methodist youth group and a food pantry volunteer.

Justin plans to attend Marshall University and major in biology. He would like to be a wildlife biologist.

Monica Lane Offutt, Valedictorian

Monica is the daughter of Michael and Leah Offutt of Mt. Zion. She attended Governor's Honors Academy and Know Your State Government Day, and received a Golden Horseshoe Award. She is a member of National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, yearbook staff, S.C.O.R.E.S. and HSTA. Monica has been a volunteer tutor at Arnoldsburg School working with elementary students.

She will attend West Virginia University in the fall majoring in biology. Her future plans are to work in the health sciences field.

Candace Dawn Stalnaker, Valedictorian

Candace is the daughter of Stephen and Rebecca Stalnaker of Arnoldsburg. She has been a member of HSTA, National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, yearbook staff, S.C.O.R.E.S, and was named a National Honor Student and received the Golden Horseshoe Award. Candace is an active member in 4-H and teen leaders and has more than 400 hours of community service.

Her future plans are to attend Marshall University majoring in physiology, molecular biology and chemistry to become a Doctor of Pathology.

Darlene Adele Lamont, Salutatorian

Darlene is the daughter of Brian and Elva Lamont of Grantsville. She was a member of the cross country team, where she was named MVP for four consecutive years; Future Farmers of America; National Honor Society; and Mu Alpha Theta. She is also a member of the American Dairy Goat Association.

Darlene plans to attend Glenville State College and major in Accounting or Math Education.

Members of the Class of 2001:

Christeallia Marie Amorosi, Brent Matthew Arthur, Samantha Yvonne Bailey, Steven Edward Basnett, Tracy Mae Bass, Steven Ryan Beecher, Kelly Sue Bell, Kristi Leigh Cain, Brian Adam Carter, Samara Dawn Church, Dennis Lee Cottrill, Jr., Kevin Dewayne Cunningham, Sarah Lynn Cunningham, Steven Waylon Cunningham, Heather Dawn Davis, Lora Nicole Davis, Travis Wayne Deuley, Joshua Rick Falls, Joshua Ryan Ferrell, Leah Danielle Fiedorczyk, Jeremy Wayne Frederick, Falisa Ann Gibson, Joseph Martin Goff, Felicia Marie Graffius, Morgan Sarah Marie Grahame, Jessica Marie Greathouse, Michael Ray Hall, Jr., Sarah Rebecca Hall, Brandi Renee Hardway, Betsy Jo Harris, Justin Todd Hartshorn, Heidi Marie Holcomb, Anna Eve Hughes, Tiffani Danielle Johnson, Evert Nichols Kerby, Darlene Adele Lamont, Jeremy Mark Laughlin, Kenneth Michael John Mace, Patrick Allen Mace, James Robert Marks, Roger Dale Maze, Jr., Preston Junior McCumbers, Chad Michael McDonald, Kristin Nicole Melrath, Jessica Lynn Miller, Katrina Lynn Mohr, Samantha Ann Moles, Cari Ann Nicholas, Nina Kay Norman, Monica Lane Offutt, Nastazzia Megan Parrish, Ashley Dawn Poling, Brandi Jo Richards, Crystal Diane Richards, Miranda Lea Richards, Randall Keith Richards, Robert Matthew Riddel, Shannon Renee Riffle, Melanie Brooke Ritchie, Jill Briann Roberts, John Michael Sampson, Joseph Michael Sampson, Bonnie Sue Shreve, Miranda Renee Simmons, Amber Christine Smith, Joseph Jay Anthony Smith, Amber Nicole Snider, Emily Louise Snyder, Marie Nicole Sorokin, Candace Dawn Stalnaker, Casey Lee Stewart, Mitchell Edward Stonebraker, Jason Leigh Valdes, Richard Kenneth Vanhorn, Sophie Katherine Voelkel, Amos Edward Walker, Brian Jacob Walker, Heather Renee Walker, Jordan Michael Welch, Derek Evan Westfall, Scottie Verle Westfall, Andrew Timothy Whipkey, Justin Wayne Yoak, Travis Scott Yost

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021