By Dianne Weaver

The Calhoun Commission unanimously appointed Bob Weaver as President during their meeting on January 8. Weaver, a Democrat, replaces Commissioner Larry McCallister (Dem) for a period of one year.

"Despite some differences, we are hopeful the Commission can continue with a spirit of unity during some really difficult financial times," he said. Weaver, a former hospital program administrator and businessman, just completed two years of a six year term.

A two-county joint economic venture with Wirt County is moving ahead with the appointment of four Calhoun members to the Little Kanawha Area Development Council. The Commission, attempting to bring a number of vested and diverse interests together, made the following appointments:

Dan McDonald of the Calhoun County Economic Development Authority; Donnie Pitts of the Calhoun Recreational and Development Corporation, the holding company for the former B. F. Goodrich site and other properties; Calhoun Development Corporation President, Jim Morford and Businessman Danny Law of the Calhoun Economic Development Authority. The Commission President and the Mayor of Grantsville will be ex-officio members.

The two-county development group has been formed to better access public money to hire a full-time, professional economic development director. Funds are more readily available for multi-county authorities. The Commission discussed at length ideas for new grant applications with some final decisions to be made on February 5. (SEE story elsewhere on The Herald)

The Commission approved the appointment of Teresa Scott as a Clerk in the County Clerk's office. As a convenience to the Calhoun County Library, County Clerk Richard Kirby will process the libraries payroll, helping reduce their costs.

Donna Drake was hired as a part-time employee of Calhoun E-911. County Clerk Kirby was authorized to negotiate the best deal for vending machines in the courthouse, using local providers if possible.

Dates have been set for the Board of Equalization and Review: February 1 (5-6 p.m.), February 5 (5:30-6 p.m), February 8, also oil and gas review (5-6 p.m.), February 13 (5-6 p.m) and February 15 (5-6 p.m.).

Commissioners David Barr, Larry McCallister and Bob Weaver were present. The next official monthly meeting is 5 p.m. on February 5.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021