Submitted By Faye Chambers

Three Calhoun County High School students were recently chosen to sing in the WV All- State Choir. Scott Morford, singing Bass 1, Tiffani Johnson, singing Soprano 2, and Nikki Church, singing Alto 2, received this honor after auditioning before a panel of judges at Ripley High School. After being selected the students participated in two and one-half days of rehearsals at West Virginia University in Morgantown, along with approximately 300 other students from throughout the state.

(L to R) Tiffani Johnson, Scott Morford and Nikki Church

The All- State Choir was conducted by Vijay Singh, a professor at Central Washington University, in Ellensburg, Washington. Singh composes and arranges choral music for all levels in both classical and jazz idioms, and has performed as a featured bass-baritone with many prominent groups throughout the United States. The students had intensive training under his direction while preparing for the concert.

The selection of music included a piece by Mozart, "Dixit Dominicus;" "Dusk to Dawn," by the conductor, Mr. Singh, and four other selections, all of which had to be memorized. The All-State Choir performed before a full house at the Creative Arts Center.

Tiffani Johnson is a senior at CCHS and is the daughter of Dave and Sherri Johnson of Mt. Zion. Scott, a junior at CCHS, is the son of James and Bev Morford of Grantsville. This is Scott's second year of performing in the All State Choir. Nikki, also a junior, and the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Church of Arnoldsburg , was unable to attend the performance at WVU.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021